Democratic House chairs: Here’s how we can protect democracy from a lawless president

Adam Schiff of California, Jerrold Nadler of New York, Carolyn Maloney of New York, John Yarmuth of Kentucky, Zoe Lofgren of California, Eliot Engel of New York and Richard E. Neal of Massachusetts are all Democratic committee chairs in the U.S. House. In the years following the Watergate scandal, Congress enacted a series of landmark reforms to protect our democracy and restore Americans’ faith in government. Those reforms — to strengthen transparency and ethics in government, enhance congressional oversight and place significant limits on presidential powers — have stood the test of time. Though some presidents have bridled at those laws or stretched them, they have fundamentally abided by their limits for 50 years.

Until President Trump.

Read more