House Democrats unveil changes to ‘prevent future presidential abuses’

The bill incorporates several other pieces of existing legislation as well, such as Intelligence Committee Chairman Adam B. Schiff’s (D-Calif.) measure requiring the administration to give Congressmaterials related to any pardonwithin 30 days and expressly prohibiting self-pardoning. It also includes Administration Committee Chairwoman Zoe Lofgren’s (D-Calif.) measure requiring political committees to report attempted foreign influence operations to the FBI.

Schiff, Nadler and Lofgren are co-authors of the bill, along with Oversight Chairwoman Carolyn B. Maloney (D-N.Y.), Budget Chairman John Yarmuth (D-Ky.), Ways and Means Chairman Richard E. Neal (D-Mass.), and Foreign Affairs Chairman Eliot L. Engel (D-N.Y.).

Read more