More than 130 members of Congress refusing or donating paychecks during shutdown

WASHINGTON (SBG) — At least 80 members of Congress have said they will refuse their paychecks or donate their earnings for the length of the shutdown in solidarity with unpaid federal employees.

Approximately 800,000 federal workers are going without pay due to the partial government shutdown. Of those, 380,000 are furloughed and 420,000, deemed essential, continue to work without pay.

Congress passed a bill ensuring backpay to to federal workers once the government reopens, but there’s no clear indication of when that will be. President Trump insists he will not back down from his demand for border wall funding while Democratic leaders have firmly resolved not to grant money for the wall.

Several members who requested their pay withheld offered proof in the form of signed letters to the House of Representatives’ Chief Administrative Officer.

“There should not be special rules for Members of Congress, and just like the affected employees,” wrote Rep. Jim Costa (D-Calif.) in his letter. “I ask that my pay be suspended as well.”

Most of those donating their salaries chose local charities in their home states.

Several members of Congress have said they will not decline or donate their salaries. “We do continue to work here in the Senate,” said Sen. Joni Ernst (R-Iowa). “So, yes, I am taking a paycheck during this time.” Rep. Ilhan Omar (D-Minn.) accused fellow freshman Rep. Dan Crenshaw (R-Texas) of “virtue signaling” by forgoing his salary.

Public reaction to lawmakers giving up pay was mixed. Some constituents were appreciative, while others viewed it as an empty gesture.

See below for the list of Representatives and Senators declining or donating their pay during the shutdown.

House of Representatives

  1. Rep. Ralph Abraham (R-La.)

  2. Rep. Rick Allen (R-Ga.)

  3. Rep. Kelly Armstrong (R-N.D.)

  4. Rep. Cynthia Axne (D-Iowa)

  5. Rep. Don Bacon (R-Neb.)

  6. Rep. Joyce Beatty (D-Ohio)

  7. Rep. Jack Bergman (R-Mich.)

  8. Rep. Andy Biggs (R-Ariz.)

  9. Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D-Ore.)

  10. Rep. Susan Brooks (R-Ind.)

  11. Rep. Vern Buchanan (R-Fla.)

  12. Rep. Tim Burchett (R-Tenn.)

  13. Rep. Ken Calvert (R-Calif.)

  14. Rep. Salud Carbajal (D-Calif.)

  15. Rep. Buddy Carter (R-Ga.)

  16. Rep. John Carter (R-Texas)

  17. Rep. Steve Chabot (R-Ohio)

  18. Rep. Liz Cheney (R-Wyo.)

  19. Rep. Chris Collins (R-N.Y.)

  20. Rep. Doug Collins (R-Ga.)

  21. Rep. Jim Costa (D-Calif.)

  22. Rep. T.J. Cox (D-Calif.)

  23. Rep. Angie Craig (D-Minn.)

  24. Rep. Dan Crenshaw (R-Texas)

  25. Rep. Jason Crow (D-Colo.)

  26. Rep. Henry Cuellar (D-Texas)

  27. Rep. John Curtis (R-Utah)

  28. Rep. Warren Davidson (R-Ohio)

  29. Rep. Diana DeGette (D-Colo.)

  30. Rep. Suzan DelBene (D-Wash.)

  31. Rep. Antonio Delgado (D-N.Y.)

  32. Rep. Sean Duffy (R-Wis.)

  33. Rep. Adriano Espaillat (D-N.Y.)

  34. Rep. Neal Dunn (R-Fla.)

  35. Rep. Dwight Evans (D-Pa.)

  36. Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-Pa.)

  37. Rep. Chuck Fleischmann (R-Tenn.)

  38. Rep. Bill Flores (R-Texas)

  39. Rep. Virginia Foxx (R-N.C.)

  40. Rep. Mike Gallagher (R-Wis.)

  41. Rep. Greg Gianforte (R-Mont.)

  42. Rep. Bob Gibbs (R-Ohio)

  43. Rep. Anthony Gonzalez (R-Ohio)

  44. Rep. Lance Gooden (R-Texas)

  45. Rep. Kay Granger (R-Texas)

  46. Rep. Garret Graves (R-La.)

  47. Rep. Mark Green (R-Tenn.)

  48. Rep. Debra Haaland (D-N.M.)

  49. Rep. Jim Hagedorn (R-Minn.)

  50. Rep. Vicky Hartzler (R-Miss.)

  51. Rep. Kevin Hern (R-Okla.)

  52. Rep. Clay Higgins (R-La.)

  53. Rep. French Hill (R-Ark.)

  54. Rep. George Holding (R-N.C.)

  55. Rep. Chrissy Houlahan (D-Pa.)

  56. Rep. Will Hurd (R-Texas)

  57. Rep. Bill Johnson (R-Ohio)

  58. Rep. Dusty Johnson (R-S.D.)

  59. Rep. Mike Johnson (R-La.)

  60. Rep. David Joyce (R-Ohio)

  61. Rep. John Joyce (R-Pa.)

  62. Rep. Andy Kim (D-N.J.)

  63. Rep. Ron Kind (D-Wis.)

  64. Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi (D-Ill.)

  65. Rep. David Kustoff (R-Tenn.)

  66. Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-Colo.)

  67. Rep. Bob Latta (R-Ohio)

  68. Rep. Al Lawson (D-Fla.)

  69. Rep. Susie Lee (D-Nev.)

  70. Rep. David Loesback (D-Iowa)

  71. Rep. Ben Ray Lujan (D-N.M.)

  72. Rep. Elaine Luria (D-Va.)

  73. Rep. Carolyn Maloney (D-N.Y.)

  74. Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney (D-N.Y.)

  75. Rep. Ben McAdams (D-Utah)

  76. Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.)

  77. Rep. David McKinley (R-W.Va.)

  78. Rep. Mark Meadows (R-N.C.)

  79. Rep. Paul Mitchell (R-Mich.)

  80. Rep. Seth Moulton (D-Mass.)

  81. Rep. Ralph Norman (R-S.C.)

  82. Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-D.C.)

  83. Rep. Tom O’Halleran (D-Ariz.)

  84. Rep. Pete Olson (R-Texas)

  85. Rep. Chris Pappas (D-N.H.)

  86. Rep. Greg Pence (R-Ind.)

  87. Rep. Dean Phillips (D-Minn.)

  88. Rep. Denver Riggleman (R-Va.)

  89. Rep. Max Rose (D-N.Y.)

  90. Rep. Chip Roy (R-Texas)

  91. Rep. Dutch Ruppersburger (D-Md.)

  92. Rep. Mary Gay Scanlon (D-Pa.)

  93. Rep. Brad Schneider (D-Ill.)

  94. Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-Ore.)

  95. Rep. David Schweikert (R-Ariz.)

  96. Rep. Austin Scott (R-Ga.)

  97. Rep. Brad Sherman (D-Calif.)

  98. Rep. Mikie Sherrill (D-N.J.)

  99. Rep. Elissa Slotkin (D-Mich.)

  100. Rep. Jason Smith (R-Mo.)

  101. Rep. Lloyd Smucker (R-Pa.)

  102. Rep. Jason Smith (R-Mo.)

  103. Rep. Abigail Spanberger (D-Va.)

  104. Rep. Ross Spano (R-Fla.)

  105. Rep. Jackie Speier (D-Calif.)

  106. Rep. Pete Stauber (R-Minn.)

  107. Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-N.Y.)

  108. Rep. Van Taylor (R-Texas)

  109. Rep. Xochitl Torres Small (D-N.M.)

  110. Rep. David Trone (D-Md.)

  111. Rep. Tim Walberg (R-Mich.)

  112. Rep. Mark Walker (R-N.C.)

  113. Rep. Michael Waltz (R-Fla.)

  114. Rep. Peter Welch (D-Vt.)

  115. Rep. Jennifer Wexton (D-Va.)

  116. Rep. Rob Wittman (R-Va.)

  117. Rep. Rob Woodall (R-Ga.)

  118. Rep. Ron Wright (R-Texas)

  119. Rep. John Yarmuth (D-Ky.)

  120. Rep. Lee Zeldin (R-N.Y.)


  1. Sen. Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.)

  2. Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.)

  3. Sen. Bob Casey (D-Pa.)

  4. Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.)

  5. Sen. Steve Daines (R-Mont.)

  6. Sen. Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii)

  7. Sen. John Hoeven (R-N.D.)

  8. Sen. Ron Johnson (R-Wis.)

  9. Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.)

  10. Sen. Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.)

  11. Sen. Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.)

  12. Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.)

  13. Sen. Tina Smith (D-Minn.)

  14. Sen. Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska)

  15. Sen. Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.)

  16. Sen. Mark Warner (D-Va.)

  17. Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.)

  18. Sen. Todd Young (R-Ind.)

This list will be updated.