Following House passage of Never Forget the Heroes: James Zadroga, Ray Pfeifer, and Luis Alvarez Permanent Authorization of the September 11 Victim Compensation Fund Act (H.R. 1327) on July 12, Speaker Nancy Pelosi and lead bill sponsors, Congressmembers Carolyn B. Maloney (D-NY), Jerrold Nadler (D-NY), and Peter King (R-NY) joined with first responders, survivors, victim’s families and advocates to celebrate this step in making the VCF permanent. The group also is calling on the US Senate and Majority Leader McConnell to pass the bill quickly.

“It was a great honor to join Congresswoman Maloney and bipartisan members of Congress to stand with 9/11 first responders, families and advocates in support of the ‘Never Forget the Heroes Act,’” said House Speaker Nancy Pelosi. ”This bill honors our solemn responsibility to ensure the financial security and support that our heroes, survivors and families deserve, and is a fitting tribute to the courage of James Zadroga, Ray Pfeifer and Luis Alvarez, and so many other heroes who showed courage beyond measure: not only by running toward danger that day, but by giving their last days to fight for all harmed on 9/11. Today, and on all days, we pledge to never forget their service and sacrifice.”

“After 9/11, we vowed to never forget. With that promise, we committed to making sure these heroes never have to go without the support they need and never have to wonder if support will be there for them and their families,” said Congresswoman Maloney. “The true Twin Towers of New York are the FDNY and the NYPD. And I will not rest until this program is made permanent and this bill signed into law.”

Read the full article here

#911 #911VictimCompensationFund #CarolynMaloney #Queens